Under the state of Nevada, criminal offenses fall into three different categories: misdemeanors, gross misdemeanors, and felonies. First and foremost, misdemeanors are the most common and least severe. However, they do carry their own weight in terms of long term consequences.
Las Vegas Misdemeanors
Misdemeanors in Nevada, just like in most states, have a maximum penalty of 6 months in jail, as well as a fine of $1000. Generally speaking, if it is your first time receiving a misdemeanor charge, it’s likely you’ll have to pay a fine but may avoid jail time—this depends on the severity of the crime.
Here are some examples of what falls under a Clark County misdemeanor:
- Traffic violation
- Underage drinking
- Petty theft/shoplifting
- Battery/domestic violence
- Resisting arrest
Any of these crimes fall under Las Vegas misdemeanors and their punishments may vary. Violent crimes like battery or assault tend to be treated more intensely than a traffic violation.
When a crime is more intense than a regular misdemeanor but doesn’t quite qualify as a felony, often times people are charged with a gross misdemeanor.
A gross misdemeanor typically comes from the same basic crimes as a misdemeanor, but if it’s more extreme or if it’s a second offense, the charges get worse. Still technically considered a “minor offense,” the consequences increase from a $1000 fine and 6 months in jail to $2000 with a full year in jail.
Felonies in Nevada
Felonies are the worst of the three with the steepest fines and jail sentences. Within the title of a felony are five different categories in ascending in alphabetical order.
- Category A: Heinous crimes including first and second-degree murder and violent sexual assault. Punishable by death, or a life sentence.
- Category B: Violent crimes including ownership or dispersing of child pornography, assault with a deadly weapon, and attempted murder all classify as a B felony. Punishable by 8 to 20 years in prison.
- Category C: Serious crimes including grand theft, possession of a controlled substance and second-degree statutory rape. Punishable by 2 to 7 years and a fine up to $10,000.
- Category D: Harsh crimes including involuntary manslaughter, third-degree arson, and forgery. Punishable by 19 months to 4 years in jail and a maximum $5000 fine.
- Category E: Harmful crimes including gang recruitment/involvement, soliciting a child for prostitution, and peeping. Punishable by 1 to 4 years in prison, or 1-year probation.
Felonies are also a possibility for those with multiple misdemeanor violations.